This is the "Finding Statistics" page of the "Survival Skills: Statistics Sources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Survival Skills: Statistics Sources  

Social statistics, business, sports, and entertainment statistics, polls and trends, literary lists, and country and world data are at your fingertips
Last Updated: Jan 17, 2014 URL: http://libguides.umhb.edu/statisticssources Print Guide RSS Updates
Finding Statistics Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Social Statistics

AgingStats
The Federal Interagency Forum on Aging Related Statistics evaluates existing data collected by 15 major US government agencies.

Bureau of Justice Statistics
Statistics for crime and its victims, offenders, homicide, drugs, law enforcement, courts and sentencing, and corrections.

Children's Bureau (Administration for Children and Families)
The Children's Bureau seeks to provide for the safety, permanency and well being of children. Adoption/foster care statistics, child abuse and neglect research, and data on child welfare research are included.

FBI Uniform Crime Reports
Volume and rate of crime for the nation and states, hate crimes statistics, and law enforcement officers killed or assaulted.

Nation's Report Card (NAEP)
The National Assessment of Educational Progress including state profiles, state comparisons, and instructional factors related to student education.

National Center for Education Statistics
NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.

National Center for Health Statistics
NCHS collects data from birth and death records, medical records, interview surveys, and through direct physical exams and laboratory testing. NCHS is a key element of our national public health infrastructure, providing important surveillance information that helps identify and address critical health problems.

Pew Hispanic Center
Pew Hispanic Center is a nonpartisan research organization that seeks to improve understanding of the U.S. Hispanic population and to chronicle Latinos' growing impact on the nation. Includes statistics on demography, economics, education, immigration, labor, and more.

Social and Demographic Trends - Pew Research Center
The Pew Research Center’s Social & Demographic Trends project studies behaviors and attitudes of Americans in key realms of their lives, including family, community, health, finance, work and leisure.

Texas Department of State Health Services
Health statistics, cancer registry, HIV/AIDS, hospital data, substance abuse statistical information by county, vital statistics such as births, deaths, marriages and divorces.

Texas Education Agency
Includes statistics and reports of the workings of 1,200 districts and charters, as well as TEA. There is data about a variety of topics, such as student performance, spending and implementation of legislation.

World Health Statistics
Medical statistics, vital statistics, communicable diseases, hospitals, medical personnel. Published by the World Health Organization.

 

Literary Lists

R. R. Bowker
Trends in the book publishing/selling industry

New York Times Bestsellers
Hardcover, paperback, trade paperback, mass-market paperback, graphic, and children's books.

Pulitzer Prize
Lists of winners back to 1917 in the categories of journalism, biography/autobiography, fiction, drama, history, poetry, nonfiction, and music.

 

World, Country & States Data

numbers, numbers, and more numbers

CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides data on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.

NationMaster
NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from a variety of sources that allows you to graphically compare nations.

OECD Factbook 2011
Economic, environmental and social statistics

Statesman's Yearbook
Call Number: Reference 320 S797
Statistical and historical annual of the states of the world.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
The authoritative and comprehensive source for statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

Texas Almanac
The source for all things Texan.

THOMAS (Library of Congress)
Legislative information from the Library of Congress including roll call votes, election statistics, bill text, summary & status, presidential nominations, and more.

U.S. Census Bureau
Statistics on people and households, business and industry, and geography, Includes population finder and area profile by city, county, and state.

United Nations Statistics Division
Compilations of economic, geographical, social, demographic, environment and energy, trade, families, health, and many other social indicators.

USA.gov
Official information and services from the U.S. government with an A-Z list of all federal agencies. Includes services, reports, and statistics.

World DataBank
A bank of free statistics from reputable sources worldwide

 

Statistics for Business

Bureau of Labor Statistics
Wages, unemployment rate, consumer price index, inflation calculator, productivity, import prices, consumer spending

County Business Patterns, Metro Business Patterns, Zip Code Business Patterns
County Business Patterns is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. The series is useful for studying the economic activity of small areas; analyzing economic changes over time; and as a benchmark for statistical series, surveys, and databases between economic censuses.

Fortune Magazine
Fortune provides a variety of rankings including the Global 500, 100 Best Companies to Work For, America's Most Admired Companies, the Power 25 (most powerful businesspeople), the 100 Top MBA Employers among others.

Hoover's
Find business information covering 18,000 public and private companies worldwide, 300 industries, and 170,000 corporate executives and board members.

Metro Trends - Urban Institute
Commentaries on economic, demographic, and social issues in urban contexts

Occupational Outlook Handbook
For hundreds of different types of jobs, this resource tells you: the training and education needed, earnings, expected job prospects, what workers do on the job, and working conditions.

Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
Sales and use taxes, franchise taxes, property taxes, tax forms, alphabetical list of all Texas taxes, fees & assessments, and quarterly tax data searchable by city or county.

Value of a Dollar: Prices and Incomes in the United States, 1860-2009 - Derks, Scott
Call Number: 338.52 D433v4
The Value of a Dollar includes the actual pricing of thousands of items that consumers purchased from the Civil War to the present, along with facts about investment options and income opportunities.

Wall Street Journal
Expert insight on the market and economy as well as coverage of major global stories, political events, medical breakthroughs and emerging technologies.

When the Going Gets Tough, the Tough Ask a Librarian

Profile Image
Denise Karimkhani, M.L.S.
Contact Info
Library Room 108
Hours: 7:00 am-4:00pm
Lunch: 11:30-12:30
Send Email
 

Sports and Entertainment

Billboard Top 100
The week's most popular songs across all genres, ranked by radio airplay audience impressions as measured by Nielsen BDS. Information included is song's chart position, weeks on chart, biggest jumps, biggest falls, and archives back to 1955.

ESPN
ESPN.com provides comprehensive sports coverage and data is available on scores, standings, stats, teams, and players.

MovieWeb
Statistics on box office totals (daily, weekly, monthly, yearly) plus all time top 1000 grossing films.

Statistical Encyclopedia of North American Professional Sports : All Major League Teams and Major Non-Team Events Year by Year, 1876 through 2006 - Gaschnitz, K. Michael
Call Number: Reference 796.044 G246s2
Provides comprehensive information on the major professional baseball, basketball, football, hockey and soccer leagues in North America. Arranged chronologically, entries include individual statistical leaders, championship results, major rules changes, winners of major awards, and hall of fame inductees.


umhb

Mobile Site | Suggestions or Feedback | Townsend Memorial Library | Belton, Tx  76513 | 254-295-4637

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip