This is the "Journal Articles & APA citation" page of the "Nursing Basics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

Nursing Basics  Tags: nclex nursing_2310 nursing_3312 nursing_3313 nursing_theories health_assessment foundations_nursing nursing_professional_development  

Last update: Mar 02nd, 2010 URL: http://libguides.umhb.edu/nursing  Print/Mobile Guide  RSS Updates

Journal Articles & APA citation             Print/Mobile Page
  
 

Searching Tips

--for DEEPER searches, use WORD (keyword) searching

--for SPEEDIER searches, use * -- nurs* will pull nursing, nurse, nurses

-- to determine author's NATIONALITY & PROFESSION -- look in citation for "Affiliation" and/or look in body of article

 

Find Articles in Databases

  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text  
      
    Find full-text articles for all areas of nursing and allied health literature including 750 allied health/nursing journals and 220 books/monographs.
  • Health Source Nursing - Academic  
      
    Full text nursing and allied health journals. Includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide covering 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets and more than 4,700 brand names.
  • MEDLINE with Full Text  
      
    Find full text medical journals. Provides full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE with coverage back to 1965.
  • Red Book Online  
      
    Includes the complete text of the Red Book®, the complete visual library of over 2,000 images, vaccine status information, infectious disease news, and more.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Find full text access to more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals covering all disciplines. This database indexes Medicine & Science in Sports & Exercise.
  • Science Direct  
      
    Find full text journals including Applied Nursing Research, Journal of Cancer Nursing, Journal of Emergency Nursing, and Journal of Professional Nursing.
  • Business Source Complete  
      
    Find full-text, scholarly, peer-reviewed articles covering business and management aspects of sports. Includes Sport Management Review and Sport Marketing Quarterly.
  • View All Databases  
      

APA Citation Help

These links will help you cite using APA.

 

APA Style Manuals in the Library

  • Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association - 6th edition
    2 Reserve copies at the Circulation Desk
    2 copies available for check out

 

Find a Journal by Title

Find a Journal by Title

Use this link to type in your journal title in the FIND box.  Each blue link shows the dates of full-text available.  Just click a blue link, and you are on your way into a database!  Now either click SEARCH WITHIN THIS PUBLICATION or click on a year to continue.  Note--if your only blue link is TOWNSEND MEMORIAL LIBRARY, you will need to come into the Library to use it.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait