Why Use LibGuides?
LibGuides are a starting point for research and give you a sampling of resources available at the library. LibGuides provide books, journals, databases, suggested search topics, and other pertinent information to assist you in developing your research topic.
Explore the World with Web Sites

- African Studies Center
- ArabicNews.com
- BBC News World Edition: Country Profiles
- CIA World Factbook
- Foreign Information by Country
- Iran Focus
- Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC)
- LatinFocus: the Leading Source for Latin American Economies
- Library of Congress Country Profiles
- Nationmaster
- REESWeb: Russian and East European Studies
Reference Materials on Countries/Regions

- Credo Reference
Call Number: Online Reference Book
Search 400 reference books simultaneously - Encyclopedia of the World's Nations and Cultures
Call Number: Reference 903 E5636k 2007 - Encyclopedia of Cuba
Call Number: Reference 972.91 E56m - Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics
Call Number: Reference 320.03 E5636g - Encyclopedia of Ireland
Call Number: Reference 941.5 E5636L - Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics
Call Number: Reference 320.98 E56k - Encyclopedia of Modern Mexico
Call Number: Reference 972 D414e - Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East & North Africa
Call Number: Reference 956.003 E5636m2 - Ethnopolitical Encyclopaedia of Europe
Call Number: Reference 323.1403 E847c - Nations of the World: a Political, Economic & Business Handbook
Call Number: Reference 909.83 N2779g - Political Handbook of the World
Call Number: Reference 320.9 P7693c 2009 - Political Systems of the World
Call Number: Reference 320.3 D428p2 - Statesman's Year-book
Call Number: Reference 320 S797 2009 - World Encyclopedia of Political Systems and Parties
Call Number: Reference 324.203 W9274s4 (3 vols.) - Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
Call Number: Reference 910.3 W9278g12 (5 vols.)
Pack Your Bags

Doing Business With... (do a TITLE search in TownCat to find complete list of titles). These books include a "background" chapter which focuses on the political environment, economy, legal regime and foreign trade. http://umhblib.umhb.edu/search/a?searchtype=t&searcharg=doing+business+with
Doing Business and Investing In... (do a TITLE search in TownCat to find complete list of titles). This series includes a "strategic profile" of the country including geography, people, government, political climate, economy, military and transnational issues, etc. http://umhblib.umhb.edu/search/a?searchtype=t&searcharg=doing+business+and+investing+in
Opposing Viewpoints Series: do a TITLE search by "opposing viewpoints series" then scroll through the list of titles. There are books on these countries of the world: Afghanistan, China, India & Pakistan, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Japan, and Tibet. http://umhblib.umhb.edu/search/a?searchtype=t&searcharg=opposing+viewpoints+series
Locating books on specific countries: do a SUBJECT search in TownCat for the name of your country. Add subdivisions to the name of the country like "history" or "politics and government." Example: Brazil--Politics and government
Ask a Librarian |
Denise KarimkhaniOffice hours: 7:15 a.m.-4:30 p.m. M-F
254-295-4636
Send Email
Subjects:
History, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Social Work, Criminal Justice, Freshman Seminar, Texas, Survival Skills, Just for Fun
Going Abroad

Expand your horizons with information from databases
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait