Background Information
This is the "History of Bell County" page of the "Bell County (Texas) History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Discover the historic people, places, and events of Bell County, Texas.
Last Updated: Jun 4, 2014 URL: http://libguides.umhb.edu/bell Print Guide RSS Updates

History of Bell County Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Bell County History Blog

Collage

 

For more information on Bell County history, check out my blog.

 

Local Newspapers

Find historical information about Temple and Belton in the following newspapers:

Temple Daily Telegram: 1938-1968, 1980-2008 (microfilm); 2007-   (DVD) Located on the second floor of the library

Belton Journal Online: 1913-1918, 1920-1939, 1942-1951, 1960-2008

 

Finding Articles in Southwestern Historical Quarterly

Southwestern Historical Quarterly

The Southwestern Historical Quarterly is available online but access is limited.

In order to find the full text of the articles listed on this guide, enter the title of the article in the search box "Search within SHQ." Then look for the appropriate issue number.

 

 

A Sampling of Resources on Bell County

Bell County courthouse 

To find additional resources on Bell County, do a SUBJECT search in TownCat for Bell County (Tex.), individual towns in Bell County, or by names of people.

"Bell County" - Handbook of Texas Online
Call Number: Website
Survey article





Belton Journal Online
Call Number: Database
Find newspaper articles from 1913-1918, 1920-1939, 1942-1951, 1960-2008


Handbook of Texas Online
Call Number: Online reference book
Search for people and places of Bell County















Don't Google--Ask a Librarian!

Profile Image
Denise Karimkhani, M.L.S.
Contact Info
Library Room 108
Hours: 7:00 am-4:00pm
Lunch: 11:30-12:30
Send Email
 

Story of Bell County

The Story of Bell County, Texas  is an invaluable resource which deals chiefly with the people, places, events, organizations, institutions, and tidbits of trivia from the county's past and present. A publication of the Bell County Historical Commission, this two-volume work begins with early explorers of the area and includes chapters on Indian tribes, the creation of the county, the Civil War, feuds, outlaws, railroads, buried treasure, cities and towns, ghost towns, cotton gins, and a large section of family histories.

 

Handbook of Texas

Handbook of Texas

The Handbook of Texas Online is a multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture sponsored by the Texas State Historical Association.


umhb

Mobile Site | Suggestions or Feedback | Townsend Memorial Library | Belton, Tx  76513 | 254-295-4637

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip