This is the "Find Articles" page of the "COMM 4340 Law and Regulation of the Mass Media" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

COMM 4340 Law and Regulation of the Mass Media   Tags: communication, freedom of speech, freedom of the press, journalism, law, media, supreme court  

Discussion of legal concepts in mass communication and journalism, including libel, obscenity, privacy, copyright, and telecommunications issues.
Last Updated: Jan 12, 2014 URL: http://libguides.umhb.edu/mass Print Guide RSS Updates

Find Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Why Use Library Databases?

Access the world through databases

 The world @ your fingertips!

 Finding library resources using databases!

Databases allow you to search for citations and full-text articles in popular magazines & scholarly journals

Databases cover all sorts of subjects and are especially useful for current information

Databases index information which has gone through an editorial review process

Databases are structured and allow you to find information more precisely

By setting limiters in databases, you can specify "scholarly journal" and "full-text"

Where can you find databases? On the library's homepage @ Databases A-Z

 

Options for Getting Articles not in the Library

Help!  I need an article not available online.


If you find a citation for an article that is not available to you online, you have options to get that article.

1.  Ask a librarian for help.  Librarians are experts in finding articles for you.

2.  Check our Journal Locator - search for a journal, magazine, or newspaper to find out if the library has access.

3.  Interlibrary Loan - we can order an article for you from another library - this normally takes 7 -10 days, so it is NOT your fastest option.  Working with a librarian first saves you time and an ILL fee.

 

Never pay for an article on a publisher's website - ask a librarian for help and you'll save both time and money. 

Your Personal Librarian

Profile Image
Anne Price, MLIS
Contact Info
254-295-4639
Send Email
Office Hours:
Mon. 11-4 Tue. 9:30-11:30 Wed. 11-2 Thu. 3-8 Fri. 11-2 or by appointment
 

What are Scholarly Journals?

scholarly journals

Scholarly journals provide an in-depth analysis of topics

Scholarly journals may be published by a professional organization

Author is usually an expert or specialist in the field

Articles are written the jargon of the field for scholarly readers

Articles are more structured and may include an abstract, methodology, results, conclusion and bibliography

Articles are reviewed and critically evaluated by peers or experts in the field

Bibliography and/or footnotes always provided to document research


umhb

Mobile Site | Suggestions or Feedback | Townsend Memorial Library | Belton, Tx  76513 | 254-295-4637

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip