New Arrivals
Check Here for New Arrivals!!!
Labor in the era of globalization
Call Number: 331.1 L1232b
ISBN: 0521195411
The third quarter of the twentieth century was a golden age for labor in the advanced industrial countries, characterized by rising incomes, relatively egalitarian wage structures, and reasonable levels of job security. The subsequent quarter-century has seen less positive performance along a number of these dimensions. This period has instead been marked by rapid globalization of economic activity that has brought increased insecurity to workers.
Fair trade
Call Number: 382.3 F163m
ISBN: 073774703X
Explores the growing fair trade movement, which attempts to help small farmers in developing countries secure better prices and promote sustainability. Offers varying perspectives on how beneficial fair trade is for developing countries, its potential impact on global warming, and if fair trade certification should be expanded to large corporations. Examines the relative benefits of fair trade and free trade, and discusses how the limitations of fair trade can be improved.
Atlas of global development : [a visual guide to the world's greatest challenges]
Call Number: 338.9 A8814w2
ISBN: 0821376039
Classification of economies -- Rich and poor -- People -- Education -- Health -- Economy -- Environment -- Statistics
America and the new global economy
Call Number: 303.482 T2468a
ISBN: 1598034812
"Thirty-six 30 minute lectures on 6 discs in 3 containers
Course guide book including lecture outlines and notes, a time line, glossary, biographical notes and bibliography accompanies DVDs
Contents pt. 1. Lecture 1. The world economy since 1950 ; Lecture 2. The U.S. in the world economy--1960-1995 ; Lecture 3. The U.S. economy resurgent ; Lecture 4. Europe--from catch-up to jobless growth ; Lecture 5. The single European market ; Lecture 6. The rise of the Euro ; Lecture 7. The economy of the Soviet Union ; Lecture 8. Transitions from communism to markets ; Lecture 9. Japan's economic miracle ; Lecture 10. When Japan's bubble economy burst ; Lecture 11. Government versus market in East Asia ; Lecture 12. East Asia's Tigers--restore the roar? -- pt. 2. Lecture 13. China's gradualist economic reforms ; Lecture 14. China's challenges for continued growth ; Lecture 15. India and the license Raj ; Lecture 16. India's turn toward market economics ; Lecture 17. Inherited institutions in the Middle East ; Lecture 18. The curse of oil wealth in the Middle East ; Lecture 19. Africa's geography and history ; Lecture 20. Time for optimism on Africa? ; Lecture 21. Latin America and import substitution ; Lecture 22. Markets or populism in Latin America? ; Lecture 23. Globalization in goods and services ; Lecture 24. Globalization of capital flows -- pt. 3. Lecture 25. The foreign exchange market ; Lecture 26. Migration--senders and recipients ; Lecture 27. Global population growth ; Lecture 28. World poverty--growth or redistribution ; Lecture 29. Global food markets--The supply-demand race ; Lecture 30. An urbanizing world ; Lecture 31. Women in the global economy ; Lecture 32. Improving governance, fighting corruption ; Lecture 33. Foreign aid--promises and limits ; Lecture 34. The multilaterals--World Bank, IMF, WTO ; Lecture 35. The economics of global climate change ; Lecture 36. Globalization and convergence"
Course guide book including lecture outlines and notes, a time line, glossary, biographical notes and bibliography accompanies DVDs
Contents pt. 1. Lecture 1. The world economy since 1950 ; Lecture 2. The U.S. in the world economy--1960-1995 ; Lecture 3. The U.S. economy resurgent ; Lecture 4. Europe--from catch-up to jobless growth ; Lecture 5. The single European market ; Lecture 6. The rise of the Euro ; Lecture 7. The economy of the Soviet Union ; Lecture 8. Transitions from communism to markets ; Lecture 9. Japan's economic miracle ; Lecture 10. When Japan's bubble economy burst ; Lecture 11. Government versus market in East Asia ; Lecture 12. East Asia's Tigers--restore the roar? -- pt. 2. Lecture 13. China's gradualist economic reforms ; Lecture 14. China's challenges for continued growth ; Lecture 15. India and the license Raj ; Lecture 16. India's turn toward market economics ; Lecture 17. Inherited institutions in the Middle East ; Lecture 18. The curse of oil wealth in the Middle East ; Lecture 19. Africa's geography and history ; Lecture 20. Time for optimism on Africa? ; Lecture 21. Latin America and import substitution ; Lecture 22. Markets or populism in Latin America? ; Lecture 23. Globalization in goods and services ; Lecture 24. Globalization of capital flows -- pt. 3. Lecture 25. The foreign exchange market ; Lecture 26. Migration--senders and recipients ; Lecture 27. Global population growth ; Lecture 28. World poverty--growth or redistribution ; Lecture 29. Global food markets--The supply-demand race ; Lecture 30. An urbanizing world ; Lecture 31. Women in the global economy ; Lecture 32. Improving governance, fighting corruption ; Lecture 33. Foreign aid--promises and limits ; Lecture 34. The multilaterals--World Bank, IMF, WTO ; Lecture 35. The economics of global climate change ; Lecture 36. Globalization and convergence"
International handbook of globalization and world cities
Call Number: 307.764 I6157d
ISBN: 1848446470
"This Handbook offers an unrivalled overview of current research into how globalization is affecting the external relations and internal structures of major cities in the world. By treating cities at a global scale, it focuses on the 'stretching' of urban functions beyond specific place locations, without losing sight of the multiple divisions in contemporary world cities."
Comments (0)
Recommended Databases
- BUSINESS SOURCE COMPLETE Full text , scholarly, peer-reviewed business journals.
Covers marketing, management, finance, economics, case studies, industry and market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.
1886 - present.
MOBILE ACCESS - for your mobile device. - ACADEMIC SEARCH COMPLETE Full text access to more than 3900 peer-reviewed journals covering all subjects.
MOBILE ACCESS - for your mobile device. - GREENFILEFocuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment.
Topics range from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond.
Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. - WALL STREET JOURNAL (Eastern Edition)Full text access to WSJ from 1984 - present.
- SCIENCE DIRECT Full text IMRAD articles dating back to 1993.
To find full-text articles, change the "SOURCE" box to "Subscribed journals" (from "All journals"). - LEXISNEXIS ACADEMICAccess limited to UMHB students, faculty, and staff only
Full text. Regional, national and inter'l newspapers; basic legal research.
NEW - You may now add documents to Dropbox.
View the Help Manual for "Easy Search"
View the Help manual for "Advanced Search"
Mobile Access for your mobile device.
Online Economic Resources
Check out these economic databases!
- Brookings InstituteThe Brookings Institution is a nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC. Our mission is to conduct high-quality, independent research and, based on that research, to provide innovative, practical recommendations that advance three broad goals:
Strengthen American democracy;
Foster the economic and social welfare, security and opportunity of all Americans and
Secure a more open, safe, prosperous and cooperative international system. - CIA - The World Factbook"The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map."
- The Happy Planet IndexThe Happy Planet Index reveals the ecological efficiency with which human well-being is delivered. The index combines environmental impact with human well-being to measure the environmental efficiency with which, country by country, people live long and happy lives.
- IDEAS: Economics and Finance ResearchThis site hosted by the University of Connecticut Department of Economics boasts that it is:"the largest bibliographic database dedicated to Economics and available freely on the Internet. Over 925'000 items of research can be browsed or searched, and over 800'000 can be downloaded in full text!"
- Internet Resources for EconomistsThis site contains hundreds of links to a wealth of economic information including Economic journals, Economic textbooks online, Financial Market information and much more!
- Intute"Intute is a free online service (created by a consortium of 7 British universities) that helps you to find the best web resources for your studies and research. With millions of resources available on the Internet, it can be difficult to find useful material. Our subject specialists review and evaluate thousands of resources to help you choose the key websites in your subject." While the website is from the UK, it includes a great deal of information on American economics
- LABORSTA InternetDatabase from the International Labour Organization on Labor statistics worldwide
- Liber8-Federal Reserve Bank of St. LouisLiber8 is"an economic information portal. Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis Research Department librarians designed this site with university and government document librarians, students, and the general public in mind. Economic information can, at times, be difficult for the non-economist to find and understand. This site will provide a single point of access to the economic information that the Federal Reserve System, other government agencies, and data providers have to offer."
- Library of Economics and Liberty"The Library of Economics and Liberty is dedicated to advancing the study of economics, markets, and liberty. It offers a unique combination of resources for students, teachers, researchers, and aficionados of economic thought."
- OECD Factbook eXplorerThe Factbook 2010 provides a broad selection of indicators, illustrating the demographic, economic, environmental and social developments, for each of the 31 member, and to the extent possible for countries that are in the process of accession to the OECD...
- RFE: Resources for Economists"This guide is sponsored by the American Economic Association. It lists more than 2,000 resources in 97 sections and sub-sections available on the Internet of interest to academic and practicing economists, and those interested in economics."
- tutor2ututor2u is the leading publisher of e-learning resources for Economics, Business, Politics, Enterprise, Law, Sociology, History, Religious Studies and related subjects. Our materials are used by over 3,500 schools and colleges in the UK and in educational institutions in over 85 other countries. tutor2u offers a range of free and subscription-based materials - designed to support teachers and inspire students.
- UNSD Statistical Databases"The United Nations Statistics Division of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) has launched a new internet-based data service for the global user. This site brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single point.
- The WWW Virtual Library - Business and Economics"The WWW Virtual Library (VL) is the oldest catalogue of the Web, started by Tim Berners-Lee, the creator of HTML and of the Web itself, in 1991 at CERN in Geneva. Unlike commercial catalogues, it is run by a loose confederation of volunteers, who compile pages of key links for particular areas in which they are expert; even though it isn't the biggest index of the Web, the VL pages are widely recognised as being amongst the highest-quality guides to particular sections of the Web."
Your Personal Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Accounting, Economics, and Finance, Communication, Art, Music, Graduate Program in Business Administration & Systems, Exhibits and Displays, Museum Steering Committee Office Hours: Mon. 11-4 Tue. 9:30-11:30 Wed. 11-2 Thu. 3-8 Fri. 11-2 or by appointment |
More Books!
The political future of social security in aging societies
Call Number: 368.43 G1469p
ISBN: 026257246X
Doubts about the ability of industrialized countries to continue to provide a sufficient level of retirement benefits to a growing number of retirees has fueled much recent debate and inspired a variety of recommendations for reform. Few major reforms, however, have actually been implemented. In The Political Future of Social Security in Aging Societies, Vincenzo Galasso argues that the success of any reform proposals depends on political factors rather than economic theory.
Social security
Call Number: 368.43 S6783y
ISBN: 0737748575
Several articles explore the multiple issues surrounding Social Security, its financial impact, societal costs, and its future.









Loading...
