This is the "Journal Databases" page of the "Business - Databases & More" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Business - Databases & More  

Last Updated: May 26, 2014 URL: http://libguides.umhb.edu/badm Print Guide RSS Updates

Journal Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

E-Journals A-Z

Do You Know Your Journal Title?

Use this link to type in your journal title in the FIND box. Each blue link shows the dates of full-text available. Just click a blue link, and you are on your way into a database! Now either click SEARCH WITHIN THIS PUBLICATION or click on a year to continue. Note--if your only blue link is TOWNSEND MEMORIAL LIBRARY, you will need to come into the Library to use it.

 

APA HELP!

Do you have an APA question?

                                 

          

Click HERE.

 

APA Style Manuals in the Library

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association - 6th edition
2 Reserve copies at the Circulation Desk
2 copies available for check out

Recommended Business Databases

Need journal articles? 

Recommendation--START with Business Source Complete!

  • BUSINESS SOURCE COMPLETE
    Find scholarly, full-text management, economics, and finance journals.
  • Hoover's
    Business information covering 18,000 public and private companies worldwide, 300 industries, and 170,000 corporate executives and board members.
  • Wall Street Journal (Eastern Edition)
    Full text access to WSJ from 1984 - present.
  • LEXISNEXIS ACADEMIC
    Regional, national and international NEWSPAPERS; basic LEGAL RESEARCH, U.S. Federal and state CASE LAW, PATENT research.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Full text access to more than 7,900 peer-reviewed journals.
    This database covers all subjects.
    Mobile devices will auto-detect this database.
  • SCIENCE DIRECT  
      
    Find full-text business, management, accounting, international management, marketing, and organizational behavior journals.

  • SpringerLink Journals
    Over 2600 full text, scholarly journals.
    11 collections of journals include behavioral science, business & econ, chemistry, humanities, social sciences, law, biomedical & life sciences, math & stats, earth & environmental sciences.
 

Searching Tips

--for DEEPER searches, use "select a field" (keyword) searching

--for NARROWER searches, use "SU-subject terms"

--some of the many LIMITERS -- "full-text", "scholarly journals", "publication date"

Use the * (asterisk)

Example: manag* = managers, managing, AND management

 

Business Source Complete

Over 1,000 full-text scholarly articles!

select a field = manager*     &     select a field = problem solving

 

 

Your Personal Librarian

Profile Image
Teresa Buck
Contact Info
254-295-4640
Send Email
Office Hours:
Sun 2-10 Mon 8:30-5 Tue 8:30-5 Wed 8:30-6 Thu 8:30-4 Fri OFF
 

How can I tell if it is a SCHOLARLY journal or a POPULAR magazine?

Distinguishing between Scholarly Journals and Popular Magazines

 

Scholarly journals, popular magazines, and trade magazines are all classified as periodicals. It is important to be able to distinguish between scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles and articles found in popular magazines prior to looking for articles for your research paper.

Scholarly Journals: Articles found in this type of periodical are usually lengthy and are written by experts or scholars in their academic or professional fields. The articles target a specific audience, normally researchers, students, or professors. There is little or no advertising and topics are related to a single field of research, normally requiring that the reader have some knowledge of the professional terminology of that field. Scholarly articles are peer-reviewed, or refereed, by an editorial board or by the author's peers. The most distinguishing feature of scholarly articles is the extensive bibliography at the end of each article.

Examples of scholarly journals: Journal of Business Ethics; Business Communication Quarterly; Journal of Marketing, Accounting & Business Research.

Popular Magazines: Popular magazine articles lack the supporting bibliographies found at the end of scholarly articles. Popular magazine articles are normally written by employees of the magazine or by free lance authors paid to write the article. Advertising is included with the intent to sell or persuade a general audience.

Examples of popular magazines include Time, Newsweek, Managing People at Work,  Psychology Today.

Trade journals are similar to popular magazines, but tend to target readers with interests in specific businesses, professions, or industries. The articles are normally written by professionals in the specific field, and include reports on conferences and trade shows. Check with your instructor prior to using an article from a trade journal as a reference for your research paper.

Examples of trade magazines include: Advertising Age, Retail Trade, Chronicle of Higher Education.

  • Remember: if you need an article from a journal that is not in the library's collection, you may request it using our Interlibrary Loan services (fees may apply).

key If you need help locating journals or journal articles, please Ask A Librarian! for assistance.

 


umhb

Mobile Site | Suggestions or Feedback | Townsend Memorial Library | Belton, Tx  76513 | 254-295-4637

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip