This is the "American Sign Language" page of the "American Sign Language (ASL) - Databases & More" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

American Sign Language (ASL) - Databases & More  

Last Updated: May 27, 2014 URL: http://libguides.umhb.edu/asl Print Guide RSS Updates

American Sign Language Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Electronic ASL Books

For Your Online Reading... 

Cover Art
The American Sign Language handshape dictionary - Richard A. Tennant, Marianne Gluszak Brown ; illustrated by Valerie Nelson-Metlay
Call Number: Electronic Book
Organizes 1,600-plus ASL signs by 40 basic hand shapes rather than in alphabetical word order. This format allows users to search for a sign that they recognize but whose meaning they have forgotten or for the meaning of a new sign they have seen for the first time. The entries include descriptions of how to form each sign to represent the varying terms they might mean.

Cover Art
A prosodic model of sign language phonology - Diane Brentari
Call Number: Electronic Book
This book is intended in part to provide linguists and cognitive scientists who do not know sign language with a point of entry into the study of sign language phonology. At the same time, it presents a comprehensive theory of American Sign Language (ASL) phonology, while reviewing and building on alternative theories. One claim of this theoretical framework is that, because of sign language's visual/gestural phonetic basis, the consonant-like units and vowel-like units are expressed simultaneously with one another, rather than sequentially as in spoken languages. A second claim is that movements operate as the most basic prosodic units of the language.



Recommended Databases for Articles About ASL

               

 

These databases are available through the library website...

  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Full text access to more than 7,900 peer-reviewed journals.
    This database covers all subjects.
    Mobile devices will auto-detect this database.
  • Education Source
    Full text for more than 1,500 journals, books and monographs, conference papers.
    Mobile devices will auto-detect this database.
  • ERIC  
      
    Full text back to 1966.
    Access educational literature and resources.
    Mobile devices will auto-detect this database.
  • Humanities Full Text  
      
    Full-text access to more than 330 scholarly journals.
    Broad coverage of the humanities including art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, religion.
    Mobile devices will auto-detect this database.
 

Online Dictionaries

American Sign Language Browser
"Look up video of thousands of ASL signs." From Michigan State University.

Sign Language Dictionaries Online (About.com)

 

Dictionaries in the Library

The American Sign Language handshape dictionary DVD [videorecording] - Richard A. Tennant, Marianne Gluszak Brown ; producer, Jill Porco
Call Number: 419 T296as
Organizes 1,600-plus ASL signs by 40 basic hand shapes rather than in alphabetical word order. This format allows users to search for a sign that they recognize but whose meaning they have forgotten or for the meaning of a new sign they have seen for the first time. The entries include descriptions of how to form each sign to represent the varying terms they might mean. Index of English glosses only.



Cover Art
American Sign Language handshape dictionary - Richard A. Tennant, Marianne Gluszak Brown ; illustrated by Valerie Nelson-Metlay
Call Number: 419.7 T296a2
ISBN: 1563684446
Organizes 1,600-plus ASL signs by 40 basic hand shapes rather than in alphabetical word order. This format allows users to search for a sign that they recognize but whose meaning they have forgotten or for the meaning of a new sign they have seen for the first time. The entries include descriptions of how to form each sign to represent the varying terms they might mean. Index of English glosses only.

Subject Guide

 

Information on ASL Classes

For information on taking ASL classes please contact Dr. Sue Pardue @ 254-295-4556 or email her @ spardue@umhb.edu

 

NEW! New!

American Sign Language [videorecording] : the basics - created and presented by Nathie Marbury, Byron Bridges ; directed by Byron Bridges
Call Number: 419.7 A5127a
Disc 1. The basics -- Things -- People -- Food & eating -- Descriptions & colors -- Numbers, money & math -- Time, days & seasons -- Health & leisure. Disc 2. Being & feeling -- Actions -- Miscellaneous -- Places -- States, cities & countries -- Fingerspelling -- Vocabulary by handshape

 

Recently Acquired Books and Other Materials


Getting started in signing [videorecording] - Elaine Costello
Call Number: 419.7 G3945L DVD
Audiovisual - DVD with guide

It's not what you sign, it's how you sign it : politeness in American Sign Language - Jack Hoza
Call Number: 419.7 H872i
Politeness-it's how you say it -- Exploring linguistic strategies -- Requests in ASL and English -- Rejections in ASL and English -- Nonmanual modifiers that mitigate smaller threats to face -- Nonmanual modifiers that mitigate more severe threats to face -- Language fluency and politeness -- Why it matters how you say it

Grammar, gesture, and meaning in American Sign Language - Scott K. Liddell
Call Number: 419.705 L712G
American Sign Language as a language -- A sketch of the grammar of ASL -- Pronouns and real space -- Indicating verbs and real space -- Surrogates -- Directing signs at locations and things -- Tokens -- Buoys -- Depicting verbs -- Five brothers -- Grammar, gesture, and meaning


umhb

Mobile Site | Suggestions or Feedback | Townsend Memorial Library | Belton, Tx  76513 | 254-295-4637

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip